• Home
  • About
  • Meet Our Staff

We are excited to welcome you to Spencer Research Library. Please note that our hours have changed and that the Reading Room is open by appointment only. Learn more about what to expect in Spencer and in other KU library locations during the 2020-2021 academic year.

Spencer Research Library Directory

Name Title Email Phone
Beth M. Whittaker Librarian; Director of Spencer Research Library; Associate Dean for Distinctive Collections, Associate Dean for Distinctive Collections bethwhittaker@ku.edu 785.864.4275
Meredith Phares Operations Manager meredithphares@ku.edu 785-864-2022
Caitlin Donnelly Klepper Head of Public Services cklepper@ku.edu 785-864-4456
Emily Beran Public Services emilyberan@ku.edu 785-864-4891
Kathy Lafferty Public Services, Copy Services Manager klafferty@ku.edu 785-864-8924
Shelby Schellenger Public Services, Reference Coordinator s.schellenger@ku.edu 785-864-1615
Letha Johnson Kansas Collection Librarian ljohnson18@ku.edu 785-864-5088
Deborah Dandridge Kansas Collection Librarian, Field Archivist and Curator African American Experience Collections ddandrid@ku.edu 785-864-2028
Elspeth Healey Special Collections Librarian ehealey@ku.edu 785-864-1229
N. Kivilcim Yavuz Special Collections, Ann Hyde Postdoctoral Researcher nky@ku.edu 785-864-1472
Rebecca Schulte Librarian; University Archivist; Curator of the Wilcox Collection bschulte@ku.edu 785.864.2024
Molly Herring University Archives mollyherring@ku.edu 785-864-4188
Whitney Baker Head of Conservation Services wbaker@ku.edu 785-864-3568
Angela Andres Conservation Services, Assistant Conservator for Special Collections andresa@ku.edu 785-864-3244
Chris Bañuelos Conservation Services, Audiovisual Preservation Specialist cbanuelos@ku.edu 785-864-3579
Jacinta Johnson Conservation Services, Mellon Initiative jacintajohnson@ku.edu 785-864-7747
Roberta Woodrick Conservation Services rwoods@ku.edu 785-864-3753
Miloche Kottman Head of Cataloging and Archival Processing mkottman@ku.edu 785-864-3916
Marcella Huggard Processing, Archives and Manuscripts Coordinator mhuggard@ku.edu 785-864-6306
Jennifer Johnson Processing, Head of Spencer Processing Non-Manuscripts and Inventory jtornado@ku.edu 785-864-8977
Sally Haines Processing shaines@ku.edu 785-864-2036
Nancy Hollingsworth Processing nhollingsworth@ku.edu 785-864-2032
Charissa Pincock Processing cpincock@ku.edu 785-864-1013
Mike Readinger Processing mreading@ku.edu 785-864-2029
Lynn Ward Processing lynn_ward@ku.edu 785-864-4926

1.5 million visits a year at 7 library locations
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection
—American Library Association
KU ScholarWorks offers access to more than 13,000 items created by KU faculty and students
An international leader in the open access movement
Users check out nearly 300,000 items every year
Users access more than 3.3 million articles online each year
More than 111,000 scores, books, sound recordings, and other volumes in Music & Dance Library
Anschutz Library serves as KU’s 24-hour study facility for students
More than 700 Vosper Society members support the mission of KU Libraries
KU Today